The Domestication of Munachi by Ifesinachi O. Okpagu

29487399.jpg– Mother liked to reel out English words from the dusty corners of the dictionary; the kind of words that even the Queen of England would marvel at. –

– It took me years to figure out that the main characters of her story had strong similarities with the writer, but when I pointed it out she laughed at me and denied it. –

– Here in Lagos, I might as well walk naked for all they care. Life just moved on smoothly around me. Nobody cared that my heart was drumming like a crazy night dancer. Nobody cared that my palms felt like I had slicked them with groundnut oil before leaving the house. –

– “Men,” Nkoli spat. “They are our tickets to the golden life, but they can use you like newspaper for wrapping roasted corn.” –

–”You see, my dear,” she said. “There are no rules when it comes to life, but there are rules when it comes to the heart.” –

http://parresia.com.ng/ifesinashi-o-okpagu/

My interview with the author: http://bit.ly/2bzkHBl

Leave a Reply

