Truth and Beauty by Ann Patchett

3686.jpg– Grasshoppers and hares find the ants and tortoises. They need us to survive, but we need them as well. They were the ones who brought the truth and beauty to the party. –

– Without writing, Lucy was just another patient in the surgical ward, waiting for her tissue expander to fill with the saline and stretch out her skin. Without writing, I was another waitress like all the other waitresses in Nashville who were waiting for their big publishing deal. They wrote songs. I wanted to write a novel. –

– Writing is a job, a talent, but its also the place to go in your head. It is the imaginary friend you drink your tea with in the afternoon. In her hospital bed or in her lonesome room back at her flat, Lucy brought out the sentences she knew and twisted them into poems and chapters, the same way I stood in the kitchen every night at the end of my shift at Friday’s and rolled 150 silverware packets, dreaming up characters with problems more beautiful and insurmountable than my own. –

– “You were so incredibly brave,” a woman began. “If it were me, I wouldn’t have been able to survive it.”
“Meaning what, you would have died?” Lucy said. “It doesn’t work that way, unless you kill yourself.”

– It’s bad luck to throw a poetry book away. –

– She was the person I knew best in the world, the person I was the most comfortable with. Whenever I saw her, I felt like I had been living in another country, doing moderately well in another language, and then she showed up speaking English and suddenly I could speak with all the complexity and nuance that I hadn’t even realized. –

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lucy_Grealy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DpYgEYhAd1c

Leave a Reply

